Skip to content

T.O.W #5: My Favorite Superbowl XLIV Commercial

February. 16. 2010.

The only reason I watch the Superbowl every year is because I throw a party. People love the parties I organize and I figure why not do it for the bg day of ‘America’s Favorite Pastime?’  Needless to say, it was a success. But I digress…I say all this to thank my love of party-throwing for allowing me to see the hysterical commercials. Everyone knows that Superbowl commercials are the best ones!

I am not a big football fan. Baseball is my sport. The Yankees are my team. I had no idea until that night that Brett Favre was the quarterback for the Minnesota Vikings. But after seeing the commercial, I actually wanted to learn more about this legendary NFL player. I learned that he is the only player to win the AP Most Valuable Player three consecutive times (1995–97). He also led the Packers to seven division championships (1995, 1996, 1997, 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2007), four NFC Championship Games (1995, 1996, 1997 and 2007), winning two (1996 and 1997), and two Super Bowl appearances, winning one (Super Bowl XXXI). No wonder they picked him to do the commercial!

Although I now very little of football, I was still aware of the relentless history with Brett Favre, this commercial made me crack up. His “old” age fascinates me, among others. Yet, he is still a very good football player. I am not even a big football person (like I said before, baseball is the field I specialize in), but I thought it was a very clever ad. It appealed to those who are heavily involved in the NFL, as well as those who just dabble. I probably won’t buy a Hyundai as a direct result of watching it, but it grabbed my attention, nonetheless. It got me to watch the words that came on the screen AFTER Brett Favre had his highlight. That was their goal…and it worked!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

