Skip to content

T.O.W. #5: Which PR Era appeals to me?

February. 16. 2010.

If you could work in an era of PR history (from a time before you were born), which one would it be? What interests you most about this era and why?

I honestly do not know how to answer this question. Although I am not African-American, being a girl with darker skin still has its problems. (People assume I am African-American when, in actuality, I am of Indian descent). The further back in time I would choose, the bolder racism would be.  Although I have ever experienced discrimination firsthand, but there have been times when I have received inappropriate comments. The Civil Rights Act of 1964 was only implemented about 40 years ago.

But let’s not play the “Black Card.” Furthermore, let’s imagine that discrimination never existed. I would love to be a part of the PR history of the late 1940’s and early 1950’s. It would be an honor to write about the journeys, struggles, and successes of musical genius that emerged during that period. My favorite artists are:

Frank Sinatra

  

Billie Holiday

 

Nat King Cole publicity shot for Capitol Records.  Image courtesy of the Dave Dexter, Jr. Collection.
Nat “King” Cole

 

Ella Fitzgerald

 

Duke Ellington

They made Western music a language. To me, they are musical’s forefathers. The path for unlimited creativity started here.

The fashion has to be the most innovative of all time. What made the 40s fashion timeless??

  • Dresses are classic in style, and emphasize the waist, producing an “hourglass” silhouette.
  • Vintage Fur
  • Blouses are full and boxy, with close-fitting skirts.
  • Skirted suits with over-the-knee pencil skirts
  • High-waist pleated or A-line skirts
  • Fitted jackets with oversized shoulders and accentuated waists
  • Wide-leg flannel and tweed trousers worn with bow-blouses
  • Fedora hats and Berets
  • Trench-like Redingotes

   

133676147_8ebc6d0249

Here are some real-life pictures that channel fashion of the 40’s…

Culture, to me, can be discovered by analyzing music and fashion. When I look at the music and fashion of the 40s and 50s, I see class and sophistication.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

